Robin Wright’s role in “The Congress” originally meant for Cate

As the director Ari Folman of the movie “The Congress” reveals, he had Cate in mind when he started out working on the film.

Robyn Wright is fantastic, and it’s a very personal and intimate portrayal of an actress of that age. Did she take any convincing at all, or was she always keen on the project?

Well the first treatment I wrote for Cate Blanchett. I was in contact with her and we had lovely illustrations of her, but I always felt somehow my mind was not complete with that choice. She was too perfect, in a way. Nobody would believe me with her. Then I saw Robyn for the first time and immediately I knew she was the one. […]

(Source)

Robin, indeed, was superb in the role but I would’ve loved to see Cate do it as well.

One response to “Robin Wright’s role in “The Congress” originally meant for Cate

  1. Then the (not so subtle) inside remark about the theater makes more sense. Lol you gotta love the geniality of Ari Folman. Still I love that movie and Robyn was indeed perfect for the part.

Leave a Reply

